Lancaster City Council :: Economically active

All people aged 16 to 74 who were usually resident in the area at the time of the 2001 Census, and were economically active.All people who were working in the week before the Census are described as economically active. In addition, the category includes people who were not working but were looking for work and were available to start work within 2 weeks. Full-time students who are economically active are included but are identified separately in the classification.
Measurement Unit
Dataset Date
2001 Census: Census Area Statistics, Work Deprivation
Comparison against other District Councils
Adur District Council28,102
Allerdale Borough Council44,598
Amber Valley Borough Council57,392
Arun District Council62,759
Ashfield District Council52,573
Ashford Borough Council50,778
Aylesbury Vale District Council88,889
Babergh District Council41,728
Barrow-in-Furness Borough Council31,165
Basildon District Council81,695
Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council84,999
Bassetlaw District Council49,434
Blaby District Council48,667
Bolsover District Council31,623
Boston Borough Council26,302
Braintree District Council68,425
Breckland District Council58,063
Brentwood Borough Council33,801
Broadland District Council59,810
Bromsgrove District Council44,828
Broxbourne Council45,103
Broxtowe Borough Council53,570
Burnley Borough Council40,245
Cambridge City Council51,592
Cannock Chase District Council46,282
Canterbury City Council60,232
Carlisle City Council49,674
Castle Point42,713
Charnwood Borough Council76,799
Chelmsford Borough Council82,929
Cheltenham Borough Council55,599
Cherwell District Council72,185
Chesterfield Borough Council46,340
Chichester District Council49,576
Chiltern District Council44,374
Chorley Borough Council51,312
Christchurch Borough Council18,859
Colchester Borough Council78,160
Copeland Borough Council31,867
Corby Borough Council26,447
Cotswold District Council40,337
Craven District Council26,527
Crawley Borough Council53,269
Dacorum Borough Council71,712
Dartford Borough Council43,979
Daventry District Council38,170
Derbyshire Dales34,603
Dover District Council47,653
East Cambridgeshire38,456
East Devon54,476
East Dorset District Council38,135
East Hampshire District Council56,670
East Hertfordshire69,200
East Lindsey District Council56,504
East Northamptonshire Council39,842
East Staffordshire Borough Council50,881
Eastbourne Council38,662
Eastleigh Borough Council62,010
Eden District Council25,566
Elmbridge Borough Council60,594
Epping Forest District Council60,273
Epsom & Ewell Borough Council34,190
Erewash Borough55,241
Exeter City54,239
Fareham Borough Council55,862
Fenland District Council39,487
Forest Heath District Council29,241
Forest of Dean District Council39,388
Fylde Borough Council33,335
Gedling Borough Council56,902
Gloucester City Council55,380
Gosport Borough Council38,922
Gravesham Borough Council46,497
Great Yarmouth Borough Council41,250
Guildford Borough Council69,016
Harborough District Council40,884
Harlow Council40,873
Harrogate Borough Council77,941
Hart District Council46,537
Hastings Borough Council38,143
Havant District Council55,507
Hertsmere Borough Council47,687
High Peak Borough45,532
Hinckley & Bosworth District Council53,314
Horsham District Council62,682
Huntingdonshire District Council84,775
Hyndburn Borough Council36,746
Ipswich Borough Council57,212
Kettering Borough Council42,904
King's Lynn & West Norfolk Borough Council62,919
Lancaster City Council59,939
Lewes District Council42,738
Lichfield District Council47,989
Lincoln City Council40,199
Maidstone Borough Council71,900
Maldon District Council29,962
Malvern Hills District Council34,515
Mansfield District Council43,899
Melton Borough Council24,994
Mendip District Council50,866
Mid Devon District Council34,085
Mid Suffolk District Council43,986
Mid Sussex District Council66,320
Mole Valley Council40,146
New Forest District Council79,531
Newark and Sherwood District Council49,919
Newcastle-under-Lyme Council57,876
North Devon District Council41,484
North Dorset District Council29,577
North East Derbyshire46,929
North Hertfordshire District Council60,744
North Kesteven District Council45,868
North Norfolk District Council43,302
North Warwickshire Borough Council31,807
North West Leicestershire43,535
Northampton Borough Council101,333
Norwich City Council57,824
Nuneaton & Bedworth59,347
Oadby & Wigston District Council27,858
Oxford City Council63,265
Pendle Borough Council39,490
Preston City Council60,022
Purbeck District Council21,001
Redditch Borough Council42,485
Reigate and Banstead Borough Council65,874
Ribble Valley Borough Council27,105
Rochford District Council39,069
Rother District Council34,827
Rugby Borough Council45,049
Runnymede Borough Council40,188
Rushcliffe Council53,948
Rushmoor Borough Council51,370
Ryedale District Council24,996
Scarborough Borough Council47,908
Sedgemoor District Council50,346
Sevenoaks District Council53,649
Shepway District Council44,256
South Bucks District Council31,049
South Cambridgeshire70,840
South Derbyshire41,471
South Hams District Council38,453
South Holland36,314
South Kesteven63,449
South Lakeland District Council50,040
South Norfolk54,403
South Northamptonshire43,190
South Oxfordshire District Council68,448
South Ribble Borough Council53,144
South Somerset District Council73,649
South Staffordshire54,507
Spelthorne Borough Council48,320
St Albans City & District Council67,425
St Edmundsbury Borough Council51,862
Stafford Borough Council61,424
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council47,309
Stevenage Borough Council41,367
Stroud District Council54,357
Suffolk Coastal District Council54,211
Surrey Heath Borough Council43,630
Swale Borough Council59,013
Tamworth Borough Council39,127
Tandridge District Council40,193
Taunton Deane Borough Council50,023
Teignbridge District Council55,375
Tendring District Council56,639
Test Valley Borough Council58,493
Tewkesbury Borough Council39,283
Thanet District Council53,312
Three Rivers District Council41,933
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council54,657
Torridge District Council27,145
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council52,382
Uttlesford District Council35,993
Vale of White Horse District Council61,297
Warwick District Council65,236
Watford Borough Council43,241
Waveney District Council49,237
Waverley Borough Council57,912
Wealden District Council66,367
Welwyn Hatfield Council47,851
West Devon Borough Council23,122
West Dorset District Council41,228
West Lancashire District Council51,654
West Lindsey37,519
West Oxfordshire51,615
West Somerset15,156
Weymouth & Portland Borough Council29,719
Winchester City Council54,867
Woking Borough Council47,572
Worcester City Council49,099
Worthing Borough Council45,702
Wychavon District Council58,155
Wycombe District Council84,824
Wyre Borough Council47,131
Wyre Forest District Council49,450

Last updated 29 Jan 08:22 (over 5 years ago)